Writing up in phases?

J

Hey all

I was wondering about writing up. I am in my second year and have one chapter done, am completing another and in two months will have another (methodology). When I come back from fieldwork I will do analysis (social sciences, a bit postmodern). THEN will I see these chapters and think how useless they are and have to toally re-write them? My sup seems very pleased with my progress and the writing so far so I take this with encouragement. BUT am I being overly optimistic? Or could these chaps actually be useful and not need too much re-jigging (apart from lang, new books and arguments etc)?? I wonder where I am in the scheme of things...

Any help from writers-uppers gratefully appreciated...

J

I think my post was a bit unclear. Basically, has anyone written up chapters as they have gone along, and then just revised during the 'writing up phase' or do you tend to write it all in one go? Is all 'old work' generally rubbish or useful? When I am away on fieldwork, can I count on coming home and being three chapters down - or am I kidding myself and will have to re-write from scratch?

thanks!

H

I did what you are doing, write up chapters as I go along. It really is the best thing to do even if you have to re-write chunks of it afterwards. When I started and asked advice of people who were finishing or finished in my group, the main thing they said was that they wished they had written up as they went along as it's difficult to always remember exactly what you did 2 years ago.

Another thing is that you will look back on those earlier chapters and possibly realise that you haven't done enough analysis or need to do more experiments because you are developing your skills over the years and you WILL become better and better at it.

L