Your Application Story

R

Hello everyone, I graduated from my BSc in Genetics this July and i've applied for an MSc Equine Science course commencing September 2011 (and been accepted yay!) . I wanted to study these two awards so I was better prepared for my PhD topic which i hope will involve Equine Genetics (in a perfect world covering a disease such as Lethal White Syndrome or performance genetics in racers!).
I like to plan everything well in advance but unfortunatly i'm now worrying about my phd and its application before i've even begun my msc ><.... I'd basically love to hear your stories... Why did you apply to your chosen university/course, did you go straight after your bsc/msc, did you contact a supervisor first before sending an official application?, How did you secure funding if it was via a scholarship etc (im confused whether you apply for the course and then also apply for the funding award or whether if you're accepted for the course, the funding will be given to you if your supervisor was awarded the grant..). Im considering applying to places such as Liverpool, Edinburgh, RVC London for the PhD so if you've had any experiences with them, please share!

Anywho! You're welcome to share your experiences, good and bad!
Many thanks!
Rose

K

======= Date Modified 19 Nov 2010 11:56:59 =======