Your preferred/favourite thesis structure and/or outline

Hi all. I'm still doing my thesis corrections after viva. I was asked to re-consider the thesis structure and do a couple of changes so it would flow better and could be understood easily. I find it hard to re-do this. So I thought I'd ask you how your chapters were structured. And also:

- Have you dedicated a separate section anywhere else in the thesis to re-visit the methodologies that you discussed in the Methodologies chapter?

- If mix-methods or unconventional methodology were used, what was your approach to justification? (I had a section backing up every action with references, almost like a mini lit-review on my selected methodology, but this was criticised as being defensive).

B

Quote From 404:

- If mix-methods or unconventional methodology were used, what was your approach to justification? (I had a section backing up every action with references, almost like a mini lit-review on my selected methodology, but this was criticised as being defensive).

I kind of did it like that first time round (my Methodology was the weak chapter). But when I dumped my super and went to see an Advisor at Student Study support, she said I was putting the cart before the horse. She said that the idea is to replicate your train of thought, and tell your own story as it happened. So you don't do - 'I did Approach A because..." instead you discuss your work and your ponderings ie, "I thought about this approach, but although there was advantage X it didn't take account of issue Y" and you go through all this and then say, "therefore, all considered at appeared that Approach D was the best fit." so don't announce, then justify, which looks defensive, just follow your thinking path. She told me to show, not tell. It came out so much better that way.

I don't know if this helps you?

======= Date Modified 13 Jul 2011 16:37:09 =======