Applying for PhD after almost 10 years

N

I felt encouraged by reading a couple of threads on this forum regarding going back to finish PhD after a long break, so I am posting my first thread here. I have a Master's in Communication and now I want to pursue a PhD in Anthropology as it is more in line with my research topic. I did ethnography on 12 step program for my Master's thesis, and I would like to further explore the topic in PhD. However, I am a bit stuck as to where to start from,,,As I studied qualitative research method (ethnography) during my Master's, and two fields are relatively similar, I am hoping I could apply directly to PhD (I am asking the program coordinator about this), I have a topic/RQ in my mind, but I feel a bit hesitant to contact supervisor directly.,I am not sure what I can do to feel better qualified for the position at the moment (I work full time in a completely unrelated field), and I feel I'm getting behind,,,Has anyone been in a similar situation, if so, how did you go about getting back on track? any suggestion would be greatly appreciated! thanks

R

Imagine you are a supervisor who is willing to take on a new student in the field of Obscure Thing. Imagine you are trying to choose between three candidates. One is fresh out of University and did their undergraduate dissertation in Vaguely Related Thing. The second is a mature student with a lifelong interest in Obscure Thing but little, if any, direct experience in the field. The third is a mature student with a lifelong interest in Obscure Thing, who was also the founder and co-chair of the local Obscure Thing Society, has ten years' experience running a popular blog about All The Obscure Things, and tutored a small group of enthusiastic A Level students who all went on to study Obscure Things at Oxbridge. Who would you pick?