Doing a PhD with a 2:1 BEng (hons) and a MSc with a Merit

W

Hi, I have just completed my MSc in Engineering and on route to a Merit grade from a UK university. I also have 2:1 BEng(hons) degree. I did not particularly performed well for my MSc Research as it was severely impacted by the COVID situation. Seeking advice as to whether If I apply for any PhDs with funding what are the chances of securing an opportunity? What matters specifically when it comes to applications regarding Studentships , CDT programs etc. I am interested in doing a PhD as I am interested in doing more research. I have 2 years of work experience as well across various engineering projects. Your advice regarding this highly appreciated.

P

Studentships are competitive, so you'll inevitably be up against people with firsts and distinctions in their degrees - therefore, you need to focus on making your personal statement and proposal the best they can possibly be.

W

Yes true, But one question?!?! I have found some PhD CDT studentships advertised only requires a personal statement and they have mentioned that a proposal is not needed. And The statement should only be a half of a normal A4 sized page. If this is the case What else should I focus on more other than the personal statement in the application?

P

It depends what else the application asks for. If you are required to include a CV, make sure it's crystal clear and emphasises transferable skills. Otherwise, it's a case of building your profile with relevant courses, knowledge and experience.