History PhD research proposal - advice please?!

M

I am applying for a funded History PhD at a UK university, and have to submit a research proposal. Essentially, I have no idea how to go about this - I have an UG degree but not a MA (the university has agreed to waive this requirement if my application is successful), and as such I'm lost on even the basics of what a PhD proposal should look like. The university itself has no guidelines on their website, and when I emailed the department they simply stated that the proposal should be 'in line with what is generally required'.

Any advice would be great - ranging from what the average length of a Humanities proposal is, how extensive the references/indicative bibliography should be, how much detail I should give on my 3 year plan etc. The PhD itself has certain criteria set by the university and it is a topic which I have spent a lot of time researching, so I'm not so concerned about the actual content. I am just terrified of looking naive and having my application rejected on something as petty as stylistic idiocy!

Thanks!

M

My proposal (within the discipline of education) was set at a limit of 750 words, though I understand that the university now allows 1000. The 750 included background, proposed methodology & method & a maximum of 6 key references. If there are absolutely no rules from your institution, I should keep the proposal as short as you can and emphasise the originality of your position.
I hope that helps, & good luck!
Mog

M

If you know who your potential supervisor will be. I would contact him and discuss this with him. I did this with my potential supervisor and he would look at my work make recommendations so in the end had a really good proposal. Now Ive started its changed loads, but guess that's a different story!

M