I feel like I don't deserve it

M

Hello all,

So I got accepted onto a phd programme and managed to get some departmental funding with it.It is the same institution I have been studying at since my B.A. Anyhow, I was chosen as the first nominee for research council funding, and failing that, I was told I would get funding from the department. I did not secure the first type of funding. To be honest, I kind of expected it. I think the only reason why I was selected as the preferred candidate was because I have been here for so many years, got good grades and therefore, the department thinks I am a good student and will do well. I am still happy I got a full scholarship.

But I feel over-estimated. Firstly, I wrote my Phd application in two weeks (I think) and to be honest, I am not sure what it is going to be about and how I am going to do it. I received feedback from a very supportive academic (Who will also be my supervisor) and I made some amendments following his recommendations. Now, I am really confused. I also have no clue how to use the method I was suggested to utilize. I am so lost about the whole research! I feel like he may have thought I would get it, but I don't! He has been amazing and really believed in me, but maybe he believed in me a bit too much? I can already see "resubmit" as my viva outcome, or "major modifications to be made"!!!! To make matters worse, the person selecting who will get accepted and subsequently get funding, knows me and was happy that I would continue studying here. Most of the department knows me, and if they don't, well my grades and history here could respectively show my academic potential and loyalty to the institution (I do love my university!).