PhD Interview Advice

B

Hi.

I've been asked to prepare a 10 minute presentation on my "research experience/skills and how you can use this to study the project". I'm a bit stuck on what to write for the latter part. This project uses techniques I have very little experience in (cell culture) and I'm not sure my research experience is that relevant to the project.
Any advice would be great.

Z

Not sure if this would be helpful since I'm not trained as a scientist and I do not have the full context of your interview – perhaps consider how your expertise could benefit their research project. Instead of limiting yourself to practical elements, are there other ways in which you could offer advice, recommendation, consultation to shed new light on their current research projects? I think "research experience and skills" are not just techniques for investigation. In a broader sense, experience could also refer to your general ability in problem solving, connecting the dots, thinking outside the box, or even just managing relations, drafting research reports, visualising data, digital analysis and data collection, generic literature review, etc. Basically try to find ways on how you can contribute to their projects in spite of potential knowledge gaps. Hope this helps :)

Hi Blue Elephant,