Referees for an aged returner?

M

I am finally looking to start a PhD and have found a potentially ideal studenship and really don't want to mess up the application. I have so much stuff to sort out in a very limited timeframe (I found out about the studentship three weeks before the deadline for submission).

The thing that is currently exercising me is who would be the most useful referee? The application info states that one must be an academic referee, so I should really approach the university where I did my MSc, back in 2000. Trouble with that is, I really didn't do a very good job of the MSc. I was working full time, had health issues etc. I did only just enough to scrape through and got a pass. I wonder if, 13 years on, this will come out in the reference. I am imagining that they won't have much info on me apart from the fact that I attended and passed. So, should I risk it and go to that university for a reference or to the one where I took my first degree, worked like a demon and got a first?

Secondly, who would be best to use for my second referee? I am a consulting psychologist (the PhD is in a psychology-related subject) and could approach one of my regular service-users (the Chief Psychologist of a charity I do work for). The advantage is that it would be current. The disadvatage is, I don't do research there (although I have published a couple of brief articles in their in house journal). The other two options are to approach my supervisor from a job way back, for whom I did quite a bit of research. However, I left this job in 2002. I also lecture part-time, so could get a reference from there as well. It is not in the area of psychology that I intend to do my research in (I am dual-qualified), but it has some academic relevance.

Or should I just contact the university offering the PhD and ask them who they would like to hear from?

Any thoughts on this would help my bad-addled brains immensely.

C

Hi Maus,