Speculative PhD letter, any good?

J

I was enquiring to whether there was the possibility of gaining a funded studentship with the group for an international student.

My own research, although in a different type of receptors, Cannabinoids compared to muscaranic receptors. My project title was, “Allosteric Modulation of the hCB1 Receptor”. I was doing the research under Dr xx xx,

I feel that working in your department would be fascinating as I do keep up to date with the research from your group and am I am a biological chemist, this is right in my field of interest. Why I have not gone down the cannabinoid route, the groups doing research which closely matched my PGCert project which I then used as credit transfer for the masters.

Working in the group would be a chance too good to miss with someone whose research I follow a lot.

I have updated my CVs to include project titles as well, which weren't there before.

S

Quote From JanineG:

... Why I have not gone down the cannabinoid route, the groups doing research which closely matched my PGCert project which I then used as credit transfer for the masters.

hi janine this part about cannabinoid route--if you're going to put it in, needs more clarification

love satchi

H

Quote From JanineG:

Working in the group would be a chance too good to miss

That phrase is a bit too informal for an enquiry letter. You can be enthusiastic but try to keep it formal.

Is that last sentence about the CV something you were planning to include in the letter? Sounds a bit odd if so.

Is the bit about transferring credit from PGcert to Masters important at this stage? Out of context it sounds a bit confusing.

You've told them what you could get out of the experience, but what would they get out of you?

J

How can you word it? I feel like tigger typing out the letter! I was telling you guys I have updated my CV, not them.

H