average BSc, excellent MSc...funding chances? please respond :)

H

Hi
My names Holly, and I was just hoping you guys could offer me some advise regarding funding.

I want to do a PhD and have a rough idea of the research question I want to address, but broadly speaking I want to do a PhD in evolutionary anthropology/ evolutionary psychology. I have identified a couple of supervisors who I would like to work with, however due to the very specific area I am interested in and the lack of funding for such an area, there is only 1/2 universities where such a project would be eligible for funding.

ANYWAY, I wanted to ask, what do you think my chances are of securing funding (ESRC or university scholarship) ? I have a BSc in psychology (2.1) and MSc in evolution and human behaviour (distinction). I know competition is fierce for this funding, and I know my 2.1 at undergrad lets me down. However, I did considerably better in my 3rd year of study than my second, gaining a 1st for my research project and a few other firsts in some modules and high 2.1s in others. I averaged 79% for my masters degree, gaining 77% in my research project. I know I will get excellent references from my referees, and I am fairly confident in my ability to write a good research proposal. but will this 2.1 stop me?

also, how do I go about approaching a potential supervisor? do I need a final draft of a research proposal, just a general research question, or somewhere in between? Do I have enough time to write a proposal, get in touch with a supervisor, and meet the application funding deadline this year? am I too late to contact a supervisor?

Any help would be very much appreciated!

R

Hi Holly, it's very hard to judge how good someone's chances are, I know you are looking for reassurance, but I would advise you to just go for it!

Search for PhDs here: http://www.findaphd.com/search/PhD.aspx?Keywords=evolutionary+psychology