do i stand a chance ?? Phd - Macroeconomics

S

Hi guys, i will be really greatful to hear thoughts about my chances to getting a phd funding in economics (macroeconomics) in a 2nd tier uk university ......

my backgound is

I am non home/eu student

just got my Msc - Economics (York ) results - 60 % (disappointed ) (though in macro economics (where i want to do phd) i have marks in 70s and this was for the first time i studied economics)...

Bachelors - (overseas in accountancy - 64%) ......

I will really appreciate honest and frank evaluation of my chances of getting a funding for phd ....

Thanks a ton....

S

Hi , I thk as i didnt give much info so people were not able to evaluate my profile - hence no replies ... so here i have posted full profile ... pls see and evaluate ..

PROFILE:

Degrees  : Msc - economics (York University - UK )  - Overall score - 60 %
Undergraduate - Bachelor of Commerce , Indian University (average - no hot shot uni ) - 64 %
Math Courses: In Uk in Msc- econ they dont have any mathematics course
Econ Courses: advanced macro - 72/100 (Blanchard - Fischer , lecture of macroeconomics), advanced micro - 56/100 ( Mas collel) , econometrics - 50/100 ( Wooldridge) , International Macro- 64/100 (obstfeld/rogoff), Emerging market macro - 71/100 , public finance - 62/100 (myles) , public sector economics - 66/100  (stiglitz)
Other Courses: summer course in mathematics and statistics

Letters of Recommendation: 1 well known macro econ, 2 less well known econ, should be strong

Research Experience: theses for msc

Teaching Experience: none

Research Interests: macro economics - real business cycle , DSGE

others : i have a 4-5 yrs of work experience in accounting along with a professional accounting qualification , but maybe thats not of much use ....

looking for 2nd tier european university and just wanted to know my realistic changes of getting funding in them... and if yes, can you pls advice which ones ....

A

Dear Sunny,