Ludicrous Fees

P

I am an international student who has just finished M.sc. in Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology. I have had a few interviews after completion of my degree and finally took up a job as a lab technician just recently. I am now thinking of going for a pHd. But as I did some research by reading forums like these I have found out that the pHd fees are ludicrous. My friend just got accepted for a pHd at Aston University and he has agreed to pay 11,000 quid per year. Thats 33,000 quid over a period of 3 years which i find ridiculously high amount to pay. Off course he is gonna work part time as a professor at the same Uni but ultimately how much money are you gonna earn from it? How in the world would you be able to repay such a huge amount? Off course there are studentships on offer and I am going to try for them as well and fingers crossed I get selected somehow. But at the moment I am trying to think of the worse and preparing for the best. So I am a bit confused right now. What should I do? Should I just continue my work (Im happy wid my work). Should I opt for a self funded pHd and pay that much amount? Can you recoup for some of the money you have spent by working as a teacher in the same uni?

A

Hi there

I sympathise with your situation . Unfortunately, as I understand it, you will have to demonstrate to the university before you start your research program that you are able to meet all costs related to your postgraduate study (fees and living costs). This makes it difficult to try to pay your fees by working as you go. As you say, you'd have to work a lot to find the funds and that amount of work probably wouldn't be compatible with the amount of work you'd need to be doing to succeed in your research programme. Most universities allow fees to be paid in installments but that's still a huge sum to find even if you are paying on a termly basis.