Dissertation Blues

H

Hi everyone,

Just thought I'd begin a thread about the way I've been feeling recently. It's almost August which means the dissertation deadline for master's students draws ever closer. I feel like I've been writing mine forever and a day. I'm a slow writer, which is frustrating, but usually fine (my degree(s) are in English I'm used to writing and reading methodically), and I'm not worried about missing the deadline or needing an extension (even though the time limit is increasing my worry somehow).
Everyday when I wake up (and each evening close to bed) I feel anxious about my dissertation. I can't explain exactly "what" it is I am worried about. I have a way to go, but I think I can get done what needs to be done so long as I continue to make progress. I feel like what I get done in the 3 hours a day I work (then I go to work) is nothing. It's dwindled a lot since I first started so now I'm lucky to get 4/500 words done. My brain seems to have stopped thinking clearly. I've has a headache for the past 4 days, feel sick sometimes when I'm in front of the document.
Always it is never enough. Always. I never feel I have done a good day's work, and still, I can't "walk away from it" (physically but also mentally). The thought of it been 'unfinished' is always with me.

I've been going to bed early, between 9 and 10, and still feel like I haven't slept enough. I wish I could just have a good ol' cry and feel some release, but nothing like that comes, just the same 'on the edge' feelings all the time.

I guess I wondered if anyone else felt the same, or had some words of wisdom. I can't name the reason I feel so anxious exactly. I just know I do.

B

======= Date Modified 27 Jul 2010 20:56:37 =======
======= Date Modified 27 Jul 2010 20:44:59 =======