HELP...MSc or PGDip?

H

Hi

I am currently a full-time MSc student at the University of Bristol. While I am enjoying my course content I am working 3 days p/w to afford it. I just about keeping up at Uni with pretty much zero social life!

I am extremely unhappy with my life and finances at the moment and I know I do not want a career in research or to complete a PhD. I have 0% motivation to complete a dissertation in the Spring and Summer at the moment. If I do not complete a dissertation (saving £2000) and switch to a Post Grad Diploma it would enable me to finish the course in April and get my life back on track.

Is a PGDip seen as a failed masters dissertation? I would like to work on public health projects for the NHS after this course and several of the jobs say either MSc or PGDip? However my partner is moving to either the USA or Oz in 18 months, how would a PGDip be viewed in these countries?

Sorry so many questions...I am just very stressed!

C

The value of an MSc is often more readily understood by employers unless your PGDip is being used directly in a field where it is well understood. Often as a professional qualification you can just have a PGDip and it is certainly not a failed MSc but it is only a small step on to get the MSc so try and see if you can do it - the dissertation is the chance to look at what interests you - sometimes it can offer a chance to make new and useful contacts that can take you in a new direction. It is a more highly rated qualification. Maybe you can be given longer to do your MSc - but you would really strong reasons to be given an extension. Have you talked to a tutor about this - try and find someone sympathetic to voice your problems to face-to-face?