advisor help needed? you be the judge

I

Hello all,
I’m a brand new doctoral student in a humanities field, and am having trouble with my de facto advisor in my program. She is the only one in the school with interests similar to mine, and I’ve been essentially assigned to her for both my RA work, and she will by my actual advisor if I cannot find some way to acquire another.

The problem is that she is consistently belittling, condescending, and I believe giving me bad advice, perhaps deliberately. Since I’ve never really seen malevolent motives in anyone before, I’m uncertain as the “truth” behind my feelings. Since I’m new to graduate school, I don’t know if this is standard behavior. I don’t know if she’s actually giving good advice, but I’m too stupid to understand it, or whether my impressions of her behavior stem from actual pomposity, meanness and slyness, or if I’m imagining it. She also appears to be claiming my ideas as her own, which I understand is common in academia. But I’m frustrated and worried. I have some unique ideas (according to all the other academics I’ve spoken to in the field) and I feel that my value is being stolen, and she is deliberately sending me astray so that she can take what I am attempting to do and make it her own career.

Her situation is that of Assistant Professor. She does not have tenure yet. Her research stream is minimal at this point, though I understand she may be starting work on a book soon. She came to academia late in life, after many years as a practitioner. She is single and about 25 years older than I am. I also come to academia a bit later than most of my peers. I spent a substantial time as a practitioner as well, though not nearly as long as my de facto advisor.

She was on my thesis committee during my master’s progam, and was difficult and demeaning then as well, to the point that my thesis advisor told me to ignore her.

Here’s what she has said to me in the last week: