All from UK?

D

I'm based in the U.S.; its fascinating to hear all the experiences from so many places. So I'm sure I'm understanding, when people here say working on their PhD, or 3rd year - do they mean course work towards, or the actual dissertation research, post-course work? I'm a doctoral student, just finished course work and taking qualifying exams this summer, then onto dissertation in the fall which I'm hoping will be done by next Spring to Summer.

H

Hi doc2008, in the UK, a 3 year PhD "course" involves just your actual research work with maybe some small courses thrown in on the side (not always).

S

umm, doc, i guess the system is quite different in the UK than in the US.
In the UK there is close to no coursework for PhD students. MA /MSc is taught, then as PhD student you're on your own (dissertation research). Typically takes about 4 years of that to get your PhD. Usually this time is intersected by a "end of first year report" and an "upgrade". before the upgrade you're technically classed as MPhil student, after upgrade you are retroactively reclassed as PhD student. Upgrade usually consists of about three chapters of your thesis. At least in the social sciences, that is.

S

oh sry, H got there first

D

certainly helps me to read these posts in a new light! Yes, entirely different for both biological and social sciences compared to here; we all go through course work post Masters - number of hours depends on college, and then qualifying exams which again varies per college and institution - for mine my committee writes them and I have 9 weeks to complete them, and then I do an oral defense and then I'm ready for dissertation;others do both oral and written as well, but written could be in the institution over a 2day period with no outside materials and questions can be anything under the sun. format can really vary.

D