CV - advice needed with detail of results

R

Hi,

I've been asked to send my CV to a supervisor and was just wondering should I include the actual marks (as well as classification) I achieved for my UG/masters degrees. It's just that I was very close to a first for my UG and don't know whether it's worth mentioning the actual score. Should you include any module results as well if they're particularly relevant to the PhD?

Many thanks

T

Mmmm this is a bit of a tricky one, I think it depends on your type of degree. I'm a scientist and I have never included exact marks in my CV however, when I applied for PhDs I often had to send a copy of my academic transcript.
But on the other hand my other half is a laywer and despite having two firsts he still has various marks for certain modules in his CV, which I was told was common practice in that area.

C

Absolutely you need to put the overall undergrad mark on your application. The university will no doubt at some point require a transcription of your results anyway in order to admit you so they will see a breakdown then. For now if you have say 66/67% I would definitely just put the headline figure on your application. There's a big difference between a solid 2.1 (e.g. 65.7-68%) and a borderline 2.1 (e.g. 59%). Certainly any ESRC or AHRC studentship you will only have a reasonable chance of getting it usually if you have a solid 2.1 rather than a borderline 2.1 (the AHRC is so competitive usually only a First will do). The institution of the undergrad degree matters to some extent in practice as well if you have only a 2.1 rather than a First.

R

Thanks for your replies. I think I'll put my overall mark down for my UG but leave modules out. I am a science graduate, but I can see what you mean, commonsense, about the range of a 2.1. I got 69.something, so really missed by a whisker.

S

just as a comment, it will probably help to put down the mark 69% after your 2i