Devastated

K

Hi All

I am a part time PhD student at a well known red brick university. Due to life events & career opportunities moved to the Middle East ( Saudi Arabia) to take up a great job. I have taken my PhD right to the deadline in terms of registration period. My PhD has consumed 7 years of my life ( as well as my wife & kids). I knew that my thesis wasn't great when submitted and knew I would have major revisions. Sadly over the last 4 years of my PhD my mum developed lung cancer. As you can imagine it has been a terrible time. The day prior to my viva my mum became very very sick . I was home on holiday and got her admitted fast to hospital... She was stable. I had my viva (3.5hrs) which was so intense - whilst waiting for the feedback from the examiners I received a call from my sister to say mum had passed away. I was utterly consumed with grief and decided to go back to the examiners to receive their verdict . My supervisor had informed the examiners of my situation. I sat there whilst the verdict of revise & resubmit as well as another viva! My PhD is dedicated to my mum and I will hopefully see this to a successful conclusion. I had a 2 hr train journey home and went straight to the hospital to see mum - it was such a lonely journey home. As the only son ( +3 sisters) my time was focused on all mums funeral preps. I have been given 12 months to re-submit. I am devastated to have another viva. The external had requested specific things overlooked by my supervisors I feel . In the end I was the one who wrote the damn thing. I put a copy of my thesis in mums coffin with a note that I was sorry that she did not live to see me called Dr. But promised I will do my best. I hope my confidence and my belief in myself comes back as I am destroyed.

S