Having a Baby

B

Does anyone think that it is reasonable to have a baby straight after your PhD, or do you think that careerwise its best to work for a year or so as a postdoc before taking a sprog-producing break? I don't want to wait until I'm a lecturer to have children, although of course there is little job security before then. Would I be at a disadvantage if I were to have a gap between my PhD and PostDoc?

B

Hahaha! I think they are cute too, but I will probably be needing a job to apy for nipper's piano lessons etc...

H

I was thinking about this too. I'm definately going to wait until after the PhD but I don't want to wait too long after that. Going into industry, not sure how long would be a good idea to wait, maybe a couple of years...?

A little bit off-thread but do people think they would be disappointed if their child(ren) didn't reach similar academic achievements as themselves? I can forsee myself as one of those pushy types making sure my kids are doing well in all subjects but particularly science and maths.

B

H, I see what you mean. My partner is a postdoc, so I can't imagine our children not being academic. But of course, I like to think that as long s they are happy, and doing something, it doesn't matter. But I think having two highly educated parents would be of both benefit and detriment to the bambinos!

H

I'd want them to be happy but I would be very disappointed if they didn't even go to uni. My other-half is nowhere near as educated as me though, wonder if it would make a difference....?

S

It works both ways - my parents can't understand why on earth I want to go back to Uni and be an academic

You can't guarantee your child will be academic - I'm now doing a PhD, but my brother couldn't wait to ditch school. We've been brought up the same and went to the same schools, but ended up very different

B