I Got a 2ii MEng Chemical Engineering. Really what to do a PHd....Help

V

I Got a 2ii MEng Chemical Engineering at Bath. I really what to do a PHd. I working as Developmental Engineer at the mo........
Some advice please..............

Should I do a Masters or MPhil First or should I try for a job in Lab? Where can I get funding for this (if possible) and how much help can I expect!!!?

Can I get straight onto a PhD in Chemistry/Biochemistry.....If so where should I realistically apply?

As I said I’m working in Industry at the moment and I’m feed up. Its just not for me!!!! Is there anyone who was in a similar position as me………?

I ready to put the hours in, but have no I idea who to tackle the problem?? There are so many options.. Is there anyone else who got round this?

P

Hello!

Im a current PhD student who has the dreaded 2.2 degree, so it is possible!

In my situation, I had to fight for my PhD as all of the other candidates had at least a 2.1. To prove my worth, and to improve my profile I obtained 2 MSc degrees (1 from UCL), obtained relevant related experience and published some of my work in journals.

It was a hard slog for me, and it really has knocked my confidence, but has not stopped my determination! I hope this provides some comfort for you, because I know how it feels! My field is however, in social sciences, so Im not sure whether the same applies to engineering, but I think the key is to show dedication and also, networking with relevant professionals really helps in getting experience to show your interest in a subject.

Hope this helps!

H

Why do you want to do a PhD?

Why in biochem/chem?

T

Hi, i was just wondering how you were able to obtain a MSc placement with a 2.2 degree?

At the moment I am debating whether to do a masters degree in the future. I am a second year psychology student however things have not been going so well for me. If i am lucky i will be able to obtain a 60% average.