It's Done!

I went from the 'real world' to academia. And yes, academia is full of a considerable amount of b*******, but so was my 'real world' working life, and I didn't value what I was doing enough to stick that part out; I am with academia - I've been teaching for five years, doing a p/t PhD for 2, and it is very hard, but I would not swap it for anything.

When I left school I took a practical, manufactring qualifiction (HND), and I felt exactlyy the same way about that as you did about your PhD - not wanting to be there, feeling my life was going down completley the wrong path, and feeling I was lost, and my talents wasted.

Yes, I love my PhD! It is very, very hard, but that is part of what I like about it: ask people who climb mount everest, or run marathons why they want to do that - that's my idea of hell, but I accept their joy in what they do - would you say they protest too much?

As for the usefulness of a PhD, that's very subjectve, and also impossible to discern in our situation, so we can't advise on that basis, it must come down to the indivdual student to make that judgement.

I'm really happy you've found the right path for you, and if you feel strongly about our advice being one sided, then maybe an alternative forum for students who are thinking of quitting would be a good idea, we're just providing some camaraderie, encouragement and support here: that's our agenda.

G

Some people do actually give up in haste. To reach a level where someone starts enjoying PhD, you have to go through an up hill kind of struggle may be like climbing Everest or running a mega marathon. The pain is more of a spiritual nature as I have experienced. But believe me after all that I can go through any research paper on my subject like a story book. That all i will say my friends. This discussion will get us nowhere.

T

Quote From eska: