Motivation issues, working from home alone, 6 months in!

C

Hello all you lovely people :)

I know this has been said again and again by others but would really appreciate personal advice! Not all the other situations are identical to mine, so here goes:

I am currently in my sixth month of a PhD in law. I am studying from home which is 3 hours drive from the university and so I only go to campus about once a month, if that. I am TERRIBLE when it comes to motivation.

I initially started a PhD on advice from my undergrad supervisor, and because I didn't know what else to do except for the fact I did not want to practice law. I thought about teaching for a bit, and decided doing a PhD would be the best way to satisfy that - study what I was interested in and teach law to undergrads when I had finished. I finally felt like I had made a life decision which was right for me.

Starting the PhD in October, I genuinely did do a fair amount of work. I was reading generally and had a list of stuff to read so it was ok. It all started to go a bit pear shaped after Christmas. Before Christmas I met my supervisor and he advised me to read philosophical works in full relating to the theory of my thesis, which I did over the Christmas hols, albeit at snails pace because I thought I deserved a proper Christmas break for once! (The first time since I was about 14 when I hadn't been working my butt off over the hols). My supervisor was happy with my progress in January but this is when it went downhill really.

Continued....

C

Continued....