My friend just quit his PhD after 11 months...

P

Tee hee, 404. You are right. It is clear that I spent my undergrad years watching midday television!

T

I am also a doctoral student - just started. I am doing an industrial phd, this means that I am working for a company (8 hrs per day) and this work is put towards the topic of the dissertation.
I personally hate the academia (its a strong word but thats the true). Doing a phd in a research lab in a university basement is a waste of time for me, regardless the research topic. In most cases, you are being taken advantage of, and work overtime for nothing. This is not a healthy life, it is a perverted notion of someone that thinks that he is doing something great for himself.

T

If I were to briefly point out the reasons I am continuing, I would have to say the following.

- I am 24 years old, a normal age for doing a phd.

- I am working at a multinational corporation, so when I finish I will have working experience as if I was working in the private sector all along.

- I like (not love) my research topic.

B

Although I hate aspects of academia, and agree about it being potentially unhealthy, I would question the part about "thinking somone is doing something great for themselves". I, and most people I know, start off in research because they are really want to learn as much as they can about an area they are passionate about.

I don't know any that go in thinking "I am doing this so I can become great!". I would argue that working for a multinational, just clocking in for a paycheck and making shareholders slightly richer is a bigger waste of time, but thats just me.

I concur with your points of being taken advantage of and the overtime, but I still believe that if PhD students and researchers asserted themselves more, and bargained collectively, they could get better working conditions.

E