Part time PHD - even possible

R

Hi there,
I need some advice regarding a job offer and a possible combination with a phd thesis. Currently I work as a technician in a cell biology research group at the university. My master thesis is nearly complete, there are only a few pages left to write and everything will be complete latest in October. I have nearly 10 years of working experience, so I am not a complete newbie in the lab.
Now, yesterday I got an offer from the group leader: She wants me to apply for the job as lab manager in the group. They have currently approximately 30 students working full time in cell culture and microbiology and the lab is a real mess. They clearly need some one desperately and I would be their dream candidate. The job is planned to take 50 % of my time.. do you think it is unreasonable to ask if its possible to start a phd with the other half of my time?

I am experienced enough to know that I could never complete a half time phd in only 3 years, I estimate it will more likely take 4-5 years depending on the quality of my data. I am very dedicated to science and able to nest experiments into each other to get most out of my time, so I guess it would be possible. I would plan to do literature related stuff at home in the evening (especially since I have a toddler and have fixed working hours because of parenting duties).

Any comments from phd students who have more experience here?
Thanks in advance,
Rina

S

hi Rina
I think it's a great idea to ask about starting a phd together with your new role as lab manager! How about approaching the group leader about it? Have you thought about securing funding for the phd?

She already knows what you can offer as lab manager but chances are she'll be interested to hear about your phd plans. Make sure you plan your proposed phd project (include the topic, steps and progress schedule), prepare it well before you see the project leader :-)

Go for it :-)
love satchi

H