phd supervisors benefits?

G

======= Date Modified 30 Jun 2010 19:24:59 =======
@stressed. Well, the argument was regarding the research incentives...not about the jobs :-x Certainly, I am not the twister. Jep told you it's like 60hrs per every student. Hence, simple calculation 5x(£35x60)=10.5K
If still in doubt, check the original poster's title!

J

@Goodboy
But they don't get that money as extra - it is part of their pay 60 hours a year (out of the 1470 or whatever) so about 4% which if they are on £40k equates to about £160 per student - not a lot (compared to the fees).  But as I was an accountant in my previous life I do know that there are lots of other costs (eg library facilities, labs where applicable) and overheads (computers, office space, support functions etc) but it aint a lot.

You can't use the £35 sessional lecturer per hour pay for full time staff as that takes into account holiday, sick pay, prep time (they are all rolled into the rate as you only get paid for the delivery hours not the prep or marking).  Most people who do hourly paid work reckon they are on around £10 an hour. When I started out as an hourly paid I travelled 100 mile round trip to teach 2 hours twice a week so earned £130 for what took me (with travelling, preparation, seeing students etc) about 15 hours and cost me £30 a week in fuel - I saw it as work experience (which did result in my getting a permanent job).

B