secodnary school teaching after phd

T

I'm quite interested to know why there seems to be a rather negative perception of the teaching profession in some of these posts. I don't mean to get defensive because it is true that teachers are required to jump through various tedious government hoops, but golfpro, are you really such an authority as to know that anyone with a pulse can progress in the profession? As a teacher myself, it seems a rather snobbish and uninformed standpoint to me. Also, why should someone in their late 20s not be capable of heading a department? If they became a teacher at 22, that would have given them about 6 years in the profession beforehand - longer than most PhDs take! Though perhaps there is the assumption that teachers are too mentally deficient to have possibly learnt anything in that time...

G

If you read my post you'll find I was quoting other teachers. And yes you do sound (very) defensive. As a btw, I was chatting about this subject with a pal (who's happens to be a teacher). His school have a HoD (English) who's in fact 25. I wonder what you learn in 3 years in the profession.

X

I went the opposite way. I completed my PGCE (Biology) and enrolled in a phd in science education same year. Mainly because of tough job competition in n.ireland.
Teaching's cool though. And with a phd you'd be well in-line for promotions and stuff, if that's what you're into. Depending on your subject and the nature of your phd, having a good grounding in your subject, like proper expertise, would mean your planning takes a LOT less time because you're much more confident like subject knowledge, and eventually you get used to all the other bullshit.

T

Golfpro, I wonder what you learn in 3 years on a PhD? Maybe appropriate apostrophe use would be a good start.

R