Starting a Phd

T

I have just completed my MSc and would now like to do a PhD. Do you attend lectures and write essays or are PhD's all about your own research?
I am looking at applying to York university although I expect you have to be bright to do a PhD and I am not a quick learner. I need to be drip feed information.
Any answers would be greatfully accepted.

Andrea

S

whats your field?

T

I am a social worker and I worked for a department where continuous professional development was not allowed. The manager, felt that CPD was not taught when she qualified so it was not important. There for none of her staff had any other training.
I did my MSc research on CPD and what staff think about CPD. I would like to expand on this now

Andrea

S

have you seen any projects advertised? would you be willing to find your own funding? i would think that would be more research based and not involve lecutures/essays etc

T

HI
I would have to fund it myself, so it would have to be part time. So I could still work. It is something I want to do but it may sound silly but I am scared.

Andrea

S

why are you scared?

T

Because I am not very bright. The MSc I have just finished was taught in such away that I never got the informtion I needed to do good pieces of work. Even though they were suppose to offer me extra handouts or explain things again to me. I found that the leactues could not be bothered to offer the extra support. So I am scared that I will face that again.

S

well the problem with a research phd is you would mainly decide your own project and direct your own work. but if you feel you have the enthusiasm and drive and good ideas try approaching potential supervisors, who may also be able to help find funding sources. it depends why you want to do a Phd i.e do you want to stay in research and will it further your career?

T