Starting the PhD

P

Hi,

I've been lurking in the run up to beginning my PhD (next week!) and just wanted to say 'hi' and find out if there are any other PhD newbies out there?

Doll

A

Hello Paperdoll!! Welcome aboard the forum, and to the life of a PhD student!

I'm not a newbie, just writing up at the moment, but thought i'd say hello anyway! All the best for starting next week, and hope the forum comes in handy throughout your study time - its a great place for help and anonymous screaming :) (hopefully you won't need to, but if you ever do...)

Best wishes,
KT

P

Thanks KT!

The threads I've been reading have been great for clearing up the "what exactly am I doing?!" question! And of course it's great to know that there are a whole load of other people out there doing the same thing/worrying about the same things/stressing at the same time! But probably best of all that there are lots of you who are in your 2nd and 3rd years and who are surviving it :)

Doll

S

Hi, I am also starting my PhD now, for real. Was accepted about a year ago but due to full time research work on a project closely related to my topic and after getting a full time grant to finish my PhD, I will now be doing nothing else than working on my PhD:)

However, I am already terrified. My daily supervisor is a monster and she has already convinced me that I cannot write anything of worth so I guess I could be more inspired than I am :(

Good luck!

B

Hi Doll,

Yep, another newbie here! Just started. Good luck with it all.

Buzzy(up)

Hi Paperdoll,
I'm new to this world too - 2 months in now. Best Of Luck!

S

Hi People,

I'm new here and also starting next week... is anyone else feeling 'daunted'?? Feel excited as I've wanted this for a looooooong time BUT very nervous and WORRIED too!!!

Please share

P