Supervisor match-what do you think lies behind their thinking

I am in the stages where I am being matched up to a potential supervisor who will advise me on drafting my research proposal before formal submission and application. I am absolutely thrilled about how quickly this university (a really good one and only a few k's away) is responding to my inquiries and applications. No complaints there at all-whew!:p However, the potential supervisor who Ive been assigned to (by the Head of Department) appears to have a research profile that is pretty much math and math education oriented. My background is humanities and my Master's thesis was pretty much qualitative. In my proposal and the limitations section of my thesis, I said that I would need to do more of a mixed methods design with a larger population (and longer time period) for any real results (the thesis mainly brought to light what the key issues were) but now I am looking at this supervisor's profile and internally quaking!

She seems nice enough otherwise-really friendly and quick to respond and I think I would be her first doctoral student. I really don't think they are setting me up but I was quite shocked initially when I clicked on her profile. I am hoping that I am being placed on her workload, because I would be considered fairly likely to complete, therefore an okay first supervision? Not the other way around I hope! I am just thinking though, our background knowledge is likely to be quite different in many areas?

I meet her for the first informal meeting in about 10 days time, so I will find out a bit more then but I am trying to see what was behind the thinking of the Head of Department. My expression of interest was fairly comprehensive and explicit, even in the word limit given, I don't think my areas of interest could have been misinterpreted.

What have other people experienced? What sorts of things do you think are the most important in a supervisor?

A