Thinking of leaving but what to do if I do? Help!

J

Hi all!

I’ve just spent a while looking through some 'I want to quit' threads. They were really interesting, reassuring and useful but none of the ones I read exactly matched my situation so thought I'd join up to try and get some personalised advice!

My background is in Psych (BSc, MSc Health). I had 3 years out between undergrad and postgrad doing nothing related to Psych! I worked in a bar for 18 months, travelled for 5 months then worked in call centre for a year waiting to start my MSc. After finishing my MSc (2010) I worked as survey assistant for 6 months and part-time in call centre again. I was applying for permanent RA jobs but getting nowhere (other folk more experienced etc.) so when survey assistant ended (Mar 2011) I was left working in the call centre. The job search continued and I began applying for PhDs. I never gave much consideration as to what this would entail, largely applying due to being unsuccessful in job search and thinking hey I've been successful in uni so far, may as well do a PhD. With hindsight I should have investigated the PhD option in more depth!