To all Oct 2011 PhD students

======= Date Modified 06 Oct 2011 03:27:53 =======
I'm just starting my DEd (Research), rather than PhD but am still uncertain as to whether to transfer it over to the PhD (I can do either really). For the moment it doesn't really matter-its a doctorate.

I have officially begun getting my head around the Master's lit review-literature and seeing what has been published since the MEd thesis submission. A fair few things it seems!! :) As doctorate is an extension of MEd-I need to get myself up to date I think!

I'm a part-time student and so am sorting out my boundaries between the demands of work, of home and of research and study. Thanks for the thread podge and Walminski, I loved your post.

Cheers:-)

D

I started mine this week..I had to do Uni registration etc..

I already "touched" the base and meet new people including my supervisor. The people seem nice and hardworking. Somehow excited to fully improved my research proposal soon.

goodluck to us!

dx

T

Well started my PhD this week... I must say it’s been a very up and down week so far!

I am finding it really hard being the newbie, having come from a job where I knew pretty much everything and everyone, it’s very difficult coming into a lab and office where I know absolutely nothing and no one! I am also finding it hard to remember that whilst I, (after having been a manager for 4 years), know how to make people feel welcome, ensure they understand what they are doing and obtain any help they need, PhD students have no knowledge of this!

It’s like whilst everyone is really nice and approachable, what I really need is someone to show me what on earth I should be doing!

I know that everyone feels this way and I know I will be ok in a few weeks but that doesn’t make it any easier right now...

Anyway, home for the evening now, to a weekend of a lot of reading around the subject so I don’t feel quite so stupid on Monday morning!

B

Hi Everyone,