Underprepared for PhD?

M

Hi, I'm a current PhD student in mathematics, just starting my third year, but I previously did my undergraduate in physics (U.K. MSci), and I now realise that my course contained relatively little mathematics which was taught mainly in 'methods' form. When I first arrived I was overwhelmed by how much I didn't know, and tried in a very panicked way to catch up. I felt myself becoming more and more stressed and insane, and feel that I haven't been studying well for the last two years now. On top of this my topic is relatively new and interdisciplinary using many areas of mathematics. I knew that I was making a difficult choice when I changed subjects, but things have been extremely hard.

Anxiety is definitely a common affliction in PhD life and many of the feelings I have I'm sure are very common, and learning to deal with them is certainly part of the process of doing a PhD. I've had some extremely low periods in the last two years that have left me feeling really depressed, and I generally don't feel well on a daily basis. I have realised that I always was an anxious and stressed person, and that this is a problem that I have to deal with in life in general, and I do feel that I have made some progress with this problem. My main anxiety is simply that I don't have sufficient background to be doing a PhD in mathematics. I don't feel that I can talk to my peers on the same level which leaves me feeling isolated. Part of my reason for switching to mathematics was that I always had unanswered mathematical questions during my degree, and wanted the chance to learn them, but I have not had time to pursue these interests. Whilst I feel better than when I started, and I don't feel that I haven't learned anything in two years, I still feel the same anxieties.