Using Dr Title ...

S

You can't have the title Dr on your passport (unless you are an MD) for that very reason Rosy!

J

This is an international forum, although UK based, most students on here are only studying in the UK but have foreign passports. In 99% of countries you can have the Dr title in your passport. In some you are even required to do so by law. Is it true that the UK does not allow its citizen to have a respective entry added to the passport?

S

I'm not sure thats the rumour that I heard, but maybe I am just making things up!

B

Nope it's not true. I'm a postdoc and had to renew my UK passport almost straight after finishing. I was advised to put doctor on the form as I have to do overseas fieldwork and it helps establish you are who you say you are in awkward situations. My new passport has a note on the page before the photo saying 'the holder of this passport is Dr bewildered'.

J

SillyBilly - that's it right there. I already belong to my family. why should i belong to his?????? its him am marrying not his family. so i can keep my name.

R

I am going to take my fiancee's name when we get married. That is partly because I think it is a nicer surname - I too have been PLAGUED all my life with a surname that requires spelling at least two times - nobody ever gets it. Also, without giving away too much anonymity, my surname is also a first name... so people are always like "No, I said what's your SURname" and I'm like "For the fiftieth time, that IS my surname"... grrrr...

But apart from that whole issue I just think it would be nice that me, my husband and kids all share our last name... it is not really 'his' family it's a new 'OUR' family... but anyway that's just me! Each to their own... I hate all that double-barrelled nonsense though - either keep yours or take his - you can't have it all and anyway it sounds pretentious... in my humble opinion

O