Worried that I've irritated my supervisor before even starting...

N

I'm finishing my MSc at the moment and trying to prepare for PhD life, I start in October this year, at the same university, with three supervisors who I get on well with. Although I have a place I need to write a proposal as a formality, that needs to be in by next Wednesday. Two of my supervisors are writing references for me, and the other one agreed to look over my proposal, she said she was really looking forward to it. I emailed her a draft version last night - I have never written a proposal before so I told her what I knew the weak areas were and what I was most concerned about.

She emailed me back this afternoon and I don't think she liked it very much, she is fine with what I am doing, but it does not read exactly like a proposal at the moment, basically some areas need expanding, and I need to be more explicit about what my PhD will actually be doing. It wasn't that bad, and I guess nothing I write is going to be perfect first time, is it normal to have quite a few amendments to make before submitting a first proposal? I feel a bit deflated really, like I'm not cut out to do a PhD if I can't even get this bit right :-(

Natassia xx

D

Natassia, don't be so hard on yourself! Writing a proposal is far from straightforward - it sounds as if she's given you pointers how to refine it, so go with those. It may take a few refinements until it's just right, nobody would expect it to be perfect straight off!

C

Don't worry, my proposal for a phd went through 3 seperate drafts before I was given a place. The end thesis is totally different except in the road subject area.

B

I agree with the others. She's giving you good advice about improving your proposal. So take that advice and act on it. Don't view it negatively. And you're going to have to deal with much more of this sort of thing when you start the PhD. So start on the right track now.

E