Pay back parents' funding?

N

Hi everyone,

My brother and I are (were) both doing PhDs in humanities. I am in my second year (full-time). My brother is currently in his sixth year (also full-time), and has recently decided to suspend studies. He has not yet told our parents. I have suspected for the past year that he would suspend as he seems to be spending very little time on PhD work. We live near each other and talk frequently. He has been doing some part-time work for the last couple of years. He almost never discusses his PhD but talks about his part-time work a lot.

I know that he applied for some funding at the beginning of his PhD but after not getting any, he didn't apply in subsequent years. My parents decided to fund him (tuition and living expenses in central London), and have continued to do so. I didn't obtain funding either but have found part-time work and reluctantly accepted some money from my parents as they insisted it would be unfair otherwise. I have also spent a lot of time continuing to apply for funding from the university, academic associations, and trusts.

I know I'm probably coming across as really self-righteous here, but from my point of view, he is quite spoilt. He has been earning some money so is not totally lazy. My parents are not poor but they did remortgage their house a few years ago and I feel he should take some financial responsibility and pay them at least some of the money back. Am I being unreasonable? I know he definitely hasn't had any major difficulties/obstacles in all of these six years - otherwise I'd be more sympathetic. I also know PhDs are not easy at the best of times and neither is getting funding but I see no appreciation from him of our parents' situation or how easy he has had it compared to others. Apologies for the long post, and thanks a lot for your thoughts.

C