Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Advice for Interview

H

Hi all,:-)

I have an interview for a PhD studentship at a university where I am required to present for 5 minutes why I want to do this particular PhD. The PhD title was advertised by the university and another organisation, and I applied to it. Now I don't have much info on how the PhD will be structured etc., because its not my own proposal. So what things should I cover in this 5 minutes?

Has anyone been to a PhD studentship interview? Could you kindly give me a brief of how it went and what areas you covered?

Hi Chococake (mmm, I'm hungry now!),

The first thing to say is exactly what you're asked - why do you want to do a PhD. You obviously need to be honest, but things to avoid saying IMO are things like "I don't know what else to do", "I don't want to get a job", or "My friends are doing one". I think good reasons are a passion for the subject, interest in research, and of course it's also a stepping stone if you want a career (researcher, lecturer, etc) which requires a PhD. You could maybe talk about something you did as an undergrad which made you want to learn more, and while some stuff is subject specific, I think that a lot of PhDs develop your powers of analysis, critical thought, and also sheer doggedness. I had about four PhD interviews, and they all went fine, so I reckon this is a decent outline, but of course it depends on the subject, and the supervisors too. 5 minutes does seem rather short though!

H

Quote From 4matt:

Hi Chococake (mmm, I'm hungry now!),