Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Do all humanities phD's teach?

J

I'm in a bit of a pickle. On applying for my phD, I asked my prospective sup if I would be likely to get GTA work, and she said of course. Speaking to her yesterday, she said it was unlikely as the department has no money. I'm worried as I do want an academic career (fingers crossed!) and I know a CV with no teaching will be useless. I'm doing my phD in the French dept, but it's on cinema. I'm thinking of contacting the Film Studies dept to see if I could even volunteer to help them out. It's not the money I'm concerned about, but the experience. I've already taught some film classes in the French dept (I'm doing a Masters in European Cinema there), but didn't do any marking. These were classes for Honours students, and I'm not sure I'd be allowed to mark their work.

Does anybody else have experience like this? And would anybody be able to enlighten me on when a phD student in the arts might normally start any teaching? I've heard it's not often done in the first year anyway, which would buy me some time. Thanks for any feedback.

B