Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Feelings of quitting

P

Hello!

Sorry for the-yet another rant-I'm having serious thoughts about quitting!

I'm in my second year, and really dont feel like I've got what it takes! My supervisors are very critical at all my work and I'm just feeling deflated, stressed and wondering whether this is going to be worth it. My project is unique and could have important influence on how things are regulated for BEM groups. I think my sups are regretting taking me on!

I've written nearly 50k of my literature review, developed my own toolkit etc, and started fieldwork on my focus groups etc. I've also just come back from doing fieldwork for a non phd project. but I'm seriously wondering whether I will pass my upgrade :(

I just feel like bursting into tears! Does anyone out there have any tips on surviving a slump?

S

Have you tried talking to your sups? How far away is your upgrade? Could they give you an idea of how they think you are doing and how likely you are to pass? If it were unlikely surely they would have said something by now - usually people are weeded out before their second year.

Many (very many) academics are critical by nature and it is their natural communication style. Look at conference sessions - it's just an opportunity to make the speaker look small and the questioner to look big (rather than genuinely asking for information). It's an aggressive sport. I wouldn't take it personally unless they really think you aren't up to it - and if that's the case they should have said so by now!

He tries occaisionally, bless, but it clearly pains my sup to give anything resembling praise.

O