Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

First year upgrade looming!

R

Hi all,

I have my MPhil/PhD upgrade viva on Monday and was just wondering if anybody had any last minute words of wisdom for me as I'm starting to feel a bit panicked. I submitted my upgrade report 3 weeks ago and have felt like I'm in limbo ever since. I've been trying to prepare by going over my report and doing some extra reading in the hope that I can at least attempt to answer the questions I will be asked. I had a practice version of the upgrade viva with my sups earlier in the week and I think it was OK, it ended up being partly mock viva partly discussion over the sort of things I might get asked and how i should answer the questions. They think I will be OK but I'm just worried that I'm not going to be able to answer the questions on the day as I always get really nervous when people ask me questions, I even felt nervous in the practice version! Any tips on how to overcome this?

M

Hi Pixie,
Mine's Tuesday, so I'm starting to feel as you do. I have to give a 30 minute presentation followed by an hour of questioning - sounds like fun!
The only advice I can think of is to know your stuff, & I know that sounds lame & obvious but it's easy to forget that you're the expert here - you know what you've looked at & why, & where you're currently working, better than any of the panel.
Mine is broken into 5 key areas I have to prove, & I'm probably saying what you already know, but they are
1) The research problem: 2) related literature: 3) appropriate method: 4) realistic schedule & 5) original contribution to knowledge, so I've planned my presentation around those.
Otherwise, don't forget to breathe - out as well as in, I always forget the exhalation bit when I'm nervous!!
Good luck & let us know how it goes, Mog (up)

R

Hi Mog,