Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Researchers lucky to get access to building at Manchester Met

M

Hi All

Appartently if you are a researcher at Manchester Metropolitan you are now lucky to get access to the John Dalton tower which is the science and engineering center as I recieved an email yesterday regarding access to the building on monday 4th which stated the following

"We have been lucky enough to get access to the building on Monday May 4th... from 9am to 4pm"

I wish somebody had told me before I did my PhD that I would need to be lucky just to get access to the building to do my experiments for my PhD :p Anybody out there who is thinking of pursuing a PhD at Manchester metropolitan better be a lucky person or else they might not get access to the building at all :-(

M

Myostatin, do you have a PhD rep that can advocate on your behalf for better opening hours? Are management fully aware of the problems of restricted access hours? Depts will normally work around these matters by putting in place new access systems.

I've read lots of bad press about both Manchester Met and John Moore's University over the past several months...and it all seems to boil down to poor management issues.

P

I think this is more to do with Monday 4 May being a bank holiday. I'm sure access is normally fine but as a lot of people don't work on bank holidays then sometimes places aren't open so special access has to be arranged. But as we all know bank holidays don't exist in the world of PhDs!

B