Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Thinking of going back into PhD - help and advise needed.

R

All:

Hoping that everyone is well and is looking forward to Christmas. I used to post on this forum around six months ago and gained some valuable advice from fellow prospective doctoral students whilst I was undertaking the first stage of my 1 + 3 ESRC award (in an MRes). I made the decision to come out of the PhD programme (thus before starting the actual PhD) last September having submitted my MRes. In short, I'd suffered from a prolonged period of depression, that had been exasperated by the loneliness and isolation that can often result from undertaking a PhD. This was at a Russell Group institution so there was a lot of pressures in relation to strong research skills.

Taking some time out, I've been teaching on a sessional basis (on a fairly lucrative rate) at the local institution (a former polytechnic) where I did my MSc (obtaining a distinction in the process). As much as anything this has given me the opportunity to re-assess and align my goals to both my PhD topic and motivation behind doing it. In short, I am a teacher - thriving on engagement with students, and I prefer to teach older students. The PhD, as much as anything, was my passport (albeit not a guarantee) into my career. I sincerely don't see myself as a full time researcher (as would be required working full time at a Russell Group institution). Moreover, I enjoy research, though would see myself researching possibly .15 of a full time contract, with teaching and management commitments filling up my schedule. Maybe I'm mad to want to teach - who knows?