First Class at BA, potential 2:2 at MA

N

Hi

I graduated last year with a First in International Business Management, all first's in my modules for my final year, decided to do an MA in International Relations and am currently on course for a 2:2.

Not sure if it's because I went to a different uni this time or my brain isn't wired to International Politics but now I regret taking the MA.

Am I a complete failure in terms of achieving excellent marks in my undergrad and extremely poor in my postgrad and will employers look past this?

Thanks

B

Hi,

I didn't do a masters degree so i could be wrong but don't masters degrees use a different grading system to bachelors degrees (distinction, merit etc).

Masters degrees I'm sure must be far more challenging than undergraduate degrees and so you really shouldn't be so hard on yourself. If I was an employer I would be impressed by the fact that the student had taken the time and effort to educate themselves to a higher academic level, and appreciate that masters degrees are more difficult than undergraduate degrees.
I'm sure you have nothing to worry about - you should be proud of your achievements!
:-)

B

Quote From bow:

I didn't do a masters degree so i could be wrong but don't masters degrees use a different grading system to bachelors degrees (distinction, merit etc).

Yes that's right. I've never heard of a postgraduate Masters with a bachelors-style grading system. The original poster needs to check on this. Normally Masters are pass, pass with merit, or pass with distinction. The grades needed to achieve the different levels vary by university.

N

Yeh it's Pass/2:2, Merit/2:1 or Distinction/First, I just meant seeing as I'm on par for a pass is this totally rubbish considering I got a First at BA level? And will this be seen as bad by employers?

C