Give me hope?

Long story short:

I've been a professional musician and music teacher for years. Just finishing my Masters. *Really* want to go on to do a PhD and go into university lecturing. I've been doing so well with my course, but the wheels have come off it over the last few months, mainly with depression and being overworked in the day job. The dissertation has killed me.

I need to give my final draft to my supervisor on Monday. It's shit. Three main chapters, plus Intro and Conclusion. The latter have yet to be written at all. The three main chapters have to be re-written from scratch. Terrible style. All description; no analysis. I've been doing this for two years and I'm still not entirely sure what "Methodology" is, ffs.

I have the most awful feeling I'm going to completely screw this whole thing up - like I've done with pretty much everything else I've ever done.

I'm almost certain I'll pass the MA, even with a poor dissertation. But I need to do more than just pass... I guess what I want to know is, would making a pig's ear of my MA dissertation put a stop to my hopes of going on to a PhD and then lecturing/academia?

T

If you pass your MA then you've got a good chance of getting onto a PhD. I doubt anyone will ever ask what grade you got in your dissertation, even if officially you may have to upload a transcript.

Bear in mind, academic jobs are scarce and competitive.

S

No matter what happens, work on that self esteem with a good counsellor. I speak from experience.

There are some excellent examples of masters dissertations online. Having a google frenzy with it has really helped me understand what is required. I'd urge you to do this.

Good luck :)

A

I agree with spidermanx2 :)