HE lecturer or FE teacher?

F

I'm new to the forum so apologies if this is a topic covered elsewhere.

I am a UK mature student coming to the end of my undergrad BA in English and have achieved some very high marks with a First overall. I always hoped to become a HE lecturer so had planned on the Masters > PhD route, and I have a clear area of research that I am really passionate about. However, now I'm starting to look at my career prospects more realistically, I feel a little shaken by the dearth of full time/permanent positions in HE. Since I already have a fair bit of industry experience, the prospect of a further 4 years of study followed by poor job security and potentially quite low pay is making me reconsider my career expectations.

I have a place on an MA course at my current university to start in September, but I am now applying for trainee teacher/PGCE courses to pursue a career as a FE English teacher instead. I appreciate that job security isn't guaranteed in any sector, but I wonder whether this will be a more realistic goal. At the same time, I wonder if I will ever be in a position to undertake my PhD if I don't begin now.

Opinions from Masters/PhD students or those with experience of teaching would be really appreciated.

No experience as a HE or FE teacher, so I may not be the best person to answer.

Lecturer jobs are not guaranteed and getting one can require some luck. I don't think people should do a PhD for the job prospects but because they like the work/project. The payback is minuscule but worth it if you enjoy yourself doing it. So if you are looking solely at career prospects do the PGCE.

PS: You can also do a PhD then go into FE

B

Here's my reply... though you might not like it......

I taught FE for 3 years.

I was paid okay (our pay scale was £24-36K)l However, a lot of college's do not pay that much.

We were contracted to 24h teaching hours per week on a 37h per week contract. So, that's 13 hours per week to (in may case).....