Help! Poor BA, but a good MSc - Can I get into Oxbridge?

T

Hi all.

I've previously posted this on The Student Room, but as I haven't gotten any replies, I thought I would try here.

So the thing is:

I'm currently studying a two-year Master's in a top EU university and have an average translatable to a high 2.1, and good hopes of getting a 1st in my final year. I've also secured two internships related to my field, one in a development NGO and another at the UN.

My problem is that at the time I was doing my BA, I was still fairly immature and lacked motivation and study skills. This resulted in me graduating with just a pass in my degree. I attribute this failure partly to problems within my family and feeling generally unhappy, but in the end I wasn't experiencing anything 'medical' (i. e. no diagnosed depression) that I could prove to gain mitigating circumstances retrospectively.

I've worked incredibly hard to get where I am today and matured significantly as an academic and person, and would like to think that my life isn't over because of a mishap in my early twenties.

Now, there's a specific Master's (yes, I would like to do two) in Oxford (and a similar one in Cambridge) that I would very much like to do, so my question is: do I have any chance of getting in? If yes, are there any specific things I could do in my final year to further improve my situation? And also; how might I go about addressing my poor BA in my personal statement?

I would be very grateful for any help and insight you might have.

I

If you're applying to do another Master's the poor BA, whilst harming your chances, will not be of as much interest to them as the other Masters. If you do well in your Masters (distinction) then chances are they'll give more weight to that than the BA. So to answer you: yes you do have a chance to get in.