Is it stupid/risky careerwise to do a masters in Solar energy after a PhD in different field (Materials Engineering)?

A

Hello Everybody,

I, m currently pursuing my PhD in materials Engineering, and I did my bachelor project and masters in the same sub-specialization, so i kind of got bored with what i am doing, and I got so specialized, that my area is too narrow, with very limited decent companies in the field worldwide, and with uncertain applicability in real commercial market (Industry). So I, m kind of stuck to pursue an academic career back home in Egypt, (which is competitive!), which means to get a decent position, i would probably better do a post doc after the PhD.

Now I,m really interested to switch fields to solar energy, which has a huge potential locally and worldwide. The problem is to get there in this new area after a PhD in a totally diff. major, i would need to study, so a 1 or 2 years masters program is essential for me to jump-start my knowledge in the field. Do you think guys this option is stupid or risky?, in terms of the risk of not getting a job in the new field, plus loosing up or minimizing my opportunities to get a position in my initial specialty in academia, since I will be seen as unstable in my future directions and research interests? Your feedback guys would be really appreciated!

Thank you
Test Regards
Fady

O

It is a risky step, to completely change your field at this point. There is a risk of losing opportunities from your current educational specialization, and may be you may not have a scope after you change your filed. It is advisable to stick to what you are doing, and do it well and excel in it. There is a chance that you may get bored of a new specialization, and then it will be to late to undo things. all the best.

Oortiz makes a fair point and I would be minded of what he says. Normally, I would agree with his sentiments.