part time job

F

Hi, I am going to Leeds University in September to do my masters in Philosophy and as I was not successful in my funding application my parents have agreed to help me. Money will still be tight, however, and was wondering if I should get a job for 6 hrs or so a week? Does this sound like a good idea or do you think it will effect my studies?

Also, how would i go about trying to get a job for only a few hrs a week??

thanks

Fay

S

Hi Fay

I did a Masters last year, again, like you, without any funding, and I managed to work 16 hrs a week (sometimes a bit more, sometimes a bit less) for the entire year. It's most certainly possible, you just need to find a job with a bit of flexibility regarding your hours, as lectures/tutorials etc crop up when sometimes you may be scheduled to work or your workloads may be more or less at different times.
Good luck!

B

Fay,
Even if getting a stipend, you more than likely would have to get some part-time funding (fair dues to the parents by the way). It is the norm for most Masters/PhD to do some part-time, especially if you've a car or don't want to live like a hermit. Dedicate a day or two to part time work, with the notion that some of your weekend time will be taken. You need a few hours "turn-around" time i.e. you can't just walk straight from study to the part-time work and vice versa. Also, it might be a good notion to get in as much part-time as you possibly can in the early months and then decrease this as you go on.