Saving money on living expensives

V

Hi I'm going top be doing a masters at Manchester this year. I'm not very good at saving money. I got out of my habit of shopping sprees a while ago but I still buy expensive food because I don't like a lot. I was wondering if anyone got any advice on saving money as I won't have much to live once the fees and accommodation are paid.

J

College is such a serious expense but the time will be worth it. If you need to travel by bus/train daily buy a monthly/yearly pass - it'll save you a hell of a lot in travel and makes it a lot easier to avoid taxis when you've pre paid your travel. Also if you're cooking do as much as possible and you can get the following day lunch/din from it plus freeze the remainder and you can use it again. V. Martha Stewart of me I know!

B

Seven 20p tins of baked beans plus a 60p loaf of bread = lunch every day for £2 a week.

That's what I was reduced to when I was an undergraduate, I can't say I never gave in to temptation and bought a sandwich now and then, but it made a big difference to my wallet.

S

walk to uni, or go by bike, instead of taking the bus. that can save you lots of money, and it keeps you fit. even if it means a 45 minutes walk each way; you get to uni awake and ready, and in the evening you have time to turn off.
use f.e. skype for phone calls. it's free. you don't need a landline.