Were THEY ever stupid?

O

So I belong to this sort of multidisciplinary discussion group that meets weekly. Someone from the group submits a piece of research they're working on at the moment and the others critique it. Thing is, I can't always find anything to critique about the paper. I'm an MSc student still and a lot of this stuff is written by people way ahead of me, as the group is composed of people at my level right up to well established academics. So some weeks I remain completely silent, as I can't find anything wrong with their work. Other weeks I can begin to grasp what the problems might be, but I can rarely phrase it as well as the more established people, so I'm lucky if I can utter a sentence.

I'm very pleased that I'm even invited to the group, but I wonder often if I will ever be as astute as the established academics. How do you know whether your own apparent stupidity and dumbfoundedness is simply a matter of lack of experience, or actual lack of ability? I'm doing well mostly at my MSc, but is there any way of gauging one's ability prior to getting embroiled in a PhD? Or is it just a simple matter of taking the risk and hard graft improving one's ability? I wish I could go back in time and see these established people when they were at my level... or maybe they were incredible even then....

Anyway, I'm rambling, but does anyone get what I mean?!?

J